Skip to main content
cortland home report bullying  Ensemble Videos  lunch menus  myschoolbucks  school tool  boardDocs 

The Dignity for All Students Act (DASA)

New York State’s Dignity for All Students Act (The Dignity Act) seeks to provide the State’s public elementary and secondary school students with a safe and supportive environment free from discrimination, intimidation, taunting, harassment, and bullying on school property, a school bus and/or at a school function.

In July 2012, New York State leaders implemented the Dignity for All Students Act (DASA), which reads:  

It is hereby declared to be a policy of the State to afford all students in public schools an environment free of discrimination and harassment. The purpose of this article is to foster civility in public schools and to prevent and prohibit conduct which is inconsistent with the school’s educational mission.

No student shall be subjected to harassment by school employees or students on school property or at a school function; nor shall any student be subjected to discrimination based on a person’s actual or perceived race, color, weight, national origin, ethnic group, religion, religious practice, disability, sexual orientation, gender or sex.

The Cortland Enlarged School District is committed to creating safe and caring learning environments, where ALL students can succeed.

 

Dignity Act Coordinators

Barry Primary
Lisa Kaup, Principal
(607) 758-4150
lkaup@cortlandschools.org
Smith Intermediate
Angela Wanish, Principal
(607) 758-4180
awanish@cortlandschools.org
Randall Middle
Juliann Quinn, Principal
(607) 758-4170
jquinn@cortlandschools.org
Junior High
Kevin Cafararo, Principal
(607) 758-4110
kcafararo@cortlandschools.org
High School
Janesa Cornish, Assistant Principal
(607) 758-4110
jcornish@cortlandschools.org
High School
John Zarcone, Principal
(607) 758-4110
jzarcone@cortlandschools.org
High School
Joe Mack, Principal
(607) 758-4110
jcmack@cortlandschools.org
Athletics
Matt Wood, Director of Athletics and PE
(607) 758-4110
mwood@cortlandschools.org
District
Jordan Ashley, Director of Instruction, Equity, and Instructional Personnel
(607) 758-4100
jashley@cortlandschools.org
District
Robert Edwards, Superintendent
(607) 758-4100
redwards@cortlandschools.org
 

Resources and Reporting

Cyberbullying Dignity Act Brochure District Policy
Tip Line (online) Reporting Form (paper)  

 

QUICK LINKS

OUR SCHOOLS






Mr. Robert J. Edwards, Superintendent

1 Valley View Drive
Cortland, NY 13045
607-758-4100

www.cortlandschools.org


Developed by CNYRIC